Polling stations across the country opened at 7am this morning (Thursday 12th December) for registered individuals to cast their votes for constituency MPs in the General Election.

Here’s some information on voting that we hope you find useful.


Polls are open from 7am until 10pm on Thursday 12th December.


Some polling stations may have changed due to the late notice of the election – you may only vote at your designated polling station.

Please don’t presume your polling station is the same as usual – make sure you check your polling card, which you should have received at your registered address.

If you haven’t received a polling card or have misplaced it, you can check your designated polling station online by entering your postcode on Where Do I Vote?


You do not need to have your polling card with you. Just turn up at your polling station and give the officers your name and address.


You can find links to lists of candidates for four local constituencies (Birmingham Northfield, Birmingham Selly Oak, Birmingham Edgbaston and Bromsgrove) – plus 500 Word statements from those who chose to submit them – on our General Election page.

For any other constituencies, enter your postcode on the Democracy Club’s Who Can I Vote For? page.

Emergency proxy

If you are unexpectedly not able to attend to vote – for example if you have been called away for work or have had a medical emergency – you may be eligible for an emergency proxy vote. This is where you can send someone you trust to register your vote on your behalf at your polling station.

Applications for an emergency proxy vote can be made up until 5pm on Thursday 12th December.

For more information and forms visit the Electoral Commission website.

More help

If you have further queries or concerns about voting, you can contact the Birmingham City Council Electoral Registration Office by calling 0121 303 2731 or email elections@birmingham.gov.uk

Useful websites:


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.